We’ve Only Just Begun

It is Friday (if i post this on time and if you read this in a timely manner) and FUCK YEA! FRIDAY!

The weekend is here and fall is in the air and it is making me one amped up cranky mother fucker. What IS that? It’s like the air has all this extra crap and dirt and bad voodoo in it. I hate you fall. Let’s just fast forward to pumpkin and candy day. Cool? Peaches.

So my friend Ryan is always sending me little internet Jewels and treasures. This is a thing I didn’t know EXISTED until he sent this precious gift from our lord my way. (I know so much Jesus lately!)

Friends, strangers, enemies (bitch you KNOW I AM TALKING TO YOU) – you need this in your life:

Superstar: The Karen Carpenter Story

(I do believe you can only watch this from a computer – WORTH IT)

Directed by Todd Haynes and released in 1987, it tells the compelling story of Karen Carpenter’s rise to fame and TRAGIC fall – but the best part – THIS SHIT IS ACTED OUT WITH BARBIE DOLLS.

I laughed, I gasped, I laughed some more, I couldn’t peel my eyes away. This is the best damn 43 minutes of your life you will ever spend. Thank you Ryan. Thank you Todd Haynes.

THANK YOU AMERICA.

You are welcome friends.

Oh and did you know there are two apartment buildings in Downey, CA that Karen’s crazy fucking brother Richard bought?

Bittersweet Susie

Downey is kinda rad! So who is moving in with me?

Homework:

• What was your favorite part of the film?

• Do you hate the Carpenter’s music as much as I Do?

• When are we going to Downey?

See you soon friends – That new haircut you got is BOSS!

2 thoughts on “We’ve Only Just Begun

  1. I’ve only watched the first 10 minutes, but so far I’d have to say the big HAND in the record producers office!!
    I was a HUGE Bette Midler fan late HS/freshman year of college, and she made nasty comments about Karen Carpenter at the Grammys that year teehee!
    I will go to Downey with you! I want to tell people I live in Only Just Begun!

    Like

    • yes THE BIG HAND. The film is actually spectacular – all things considering. And the use of barbie dolls to talk about her weight issues was GENIUS. But I still hate their music. HATE. I need to find that Bette clip – she is a goddess. You + Me = Happy in DOWNEY!

      Like

Oh Thanks FRIEND!

