Pass the GRAVY – A Three Part Thanksgiving Playlist EXTRAVAGANZA

Thanksgiving Playlists | Bittersweet Susie

Hello! Hi! Greetings!

I took a mini break from you all, my pretty friends. Not on PURPOSE, of course. See, I get these bastard MIGRAINES and have had two multi-day day ones almost BACK TO BACK and they have knocked me down and made me pretty much a worthless shell of my former self. Any tips or home remedies out there? I will try ALMOST anything.

So now we find ourselves smack fucking in the middle of the holiday season. What the hell? And it was all lovely and warm here in Los Angeles and then it got “Cold” (it IS cold for me so put a sock in it) and I had to bust out the THICK sweat pants and the fancy Snuggie. Oh, and may stretchy pants. I have consumed more cheese lately than I care to admit, except I just did.

When it comes to the whole fall/winter holiday round of holiday madness I am pretty indifferent. Borderline BLEH. I could skip it and frolic my midget butt right back into summer FOREVER. I don’t get the hype. People live for this shit. Traditions are lost on me. In my family my little sister is the one who was REALLY into that sort of thing but she now lives as far away as she possibly can – its summer for her right now (UNFAIR I SAY!) and we as a family are forced to carry on the torch without her.

For Thanksgiving we have had a few rounds of trying some different “traditions” on to see how they go. Themed food from around the world was one. A few years we tried Fancy pants restaurants around Los Angeles with various courses and food I cannot pronounce – I think my little sister’s least favorite mostly because of the absence of canned cranberry sauce. My mom would make the old school favorite dishes a week later. Us lucky kids would get two Thanksgiving dinners. Canned cranberry sauce is always represented. I am partial to my mom’s stuffing (and only hers – it is NOT stovetop, ahem).

My mom is making the Thanksgiving round 2 for us this year, my dad and I are SO SPOILED.

And here we are – another Thanksgiving – all up in our business and I am SURE a lot of us are not ready. I am here for you Friends! I really am! I have made 3, count them 3! Playlists to ease your pain, to get you through the entire process, to ease you through prep, to play through dinner (if your guests are COOL ENOUGH) and one to play after they GET THE FUCK OUT. I know you need this.

I love you. A lot.

Thanksgiving Playlists | Bittersweet Susie

Playlist 1 – Pre Party – “The Paper Bag Trick”

I am sure you all have been there – you ran out of time right? The house still has your mini piles of crap everywhere! Your guests are going to be here in an hour! You look like shit! (real talk) This is the playlist for you! Put this on, dance around – grab some paper bag and dump all the crap in the garage, in the kids room, under your bed, in the back bathroom you are NOT GOING TO CLEAN

(but you are going to poo in later) You can DO IT!

The Paperbag Trick

  1. Louis Jordan – Beans and Cornbrean
  2. Larry Groce – Junk Food Junkie
  3. Dee Dee Sharp – Do the Bird
  4. Rosemary Clooney – Come On-A My House
  5. Louis Jordan and his Tympany Five – Nobody Here but us Chickens
  6. Booker T. & The MG’s – Green Onions
  7. A Tribe Called Quest – Ham n’ Eggs
  8. Jo Stafford – Sweet Potato Piper
  9. Chuy Reyes – Oink Oink Mambo
  10. Otis Redding – Let Me Come On Home
  11. Clarence “Frogman” Henry – Ain’t Got No Home
  12. Peppermint Harris – I Got Loaded
  13. Mel Torme – Comin’ Home Baby
  14. George Formby – When I’m Cleaning Windows

Playlist 2 – for the Guests – who hopefully don’t suck

Super – Everyone is here. Aunt Mildred brought Jello! Which kinda rules even though no one is going to eat it! Here is a playlist for the meal. It is fun and lighthearted and will hopefully spark some conversation when your grandma asks why you aren’t married yet, or when is the last time you went to MASS…errr

Kid's Table - 1953

Kids table for LIFE

I hope your Guests don’t suck

  1. Hank Williams – Hey Good Lookin’
  2. Dee Dee Sharp – Mashed Potato Time
  3. Jim Jackson – I Heard The Voice of A Pork Chop
  4. The California Honeydrops – Pumpkin Pie
  5. Yellow Ostrich – Bread
  6. The Robins – Turkey Hop
  7. Ike & Tina Turner – Shake a Tail Feather
  8. Ray Anthony – Asta Nice’a
  9. Sam & Dave – I Thank You
  10. Louis Prima – Yes, We Have No Bananas
  11. Jay & The Techniques – Apple, Peaches, Pumpkin Pie
  12. Steve Goodman – Chicken Cordon Bleus
  13. Bessie Smith – Kitchen Man
  14. Pokey LaFarge and the South City Three – Sweet Potato Blues
  15. Little Eva – Let’s Turkey Trot
  16. Devandra Banhart – Pumpkin Seeds
  17. The Rolling Stones – Brown Sugar
  18. Dr. Humphrey & His Possum Hunters – How Many Biscuits Can You Eat?
  19. The Kinks – Hot Potatos
  20. Talking Heads – This Must Be The Place
  21. Edith Piaf – Autumn Leaves
  22. Missisippi John Hurt – Shortnin’ Bread
  23. Rosemary Clooney – Love and Nuts and Noodles
  24. Charlie Adams – Sugar Diet
  25. Sly & The Family Stone – Thank You

Playlist 3 – Get out, Go Home, it is OVER

And now friends it is time for everyone to GET THE FUCK OUT. Hopefully they helped with the dishes but if they didn’t throw this playlist on and get going, or pour something stiff and leave it until tomorrow. You are a goddamn GROWNUP and can do what you WANT.

 Leftovers

  1. The 5, 6, 7, 8s – Hey! Mashed Potato, Hey!
  2. Gravy Train!!!! – A Delicious Treat
  3. Drive-By-Truckers – The Thanksgiving Filter
  4. David Byrne & St. Vincent – Dinner for Two
  5. The Rosebuds – Get Up Get Out
  6. The Swallows – It Ain’t the Meat
  7. Bikini Kill – Go Home
  8. Karen O and the Kids – Food is Still Hot
  9. Chubby Checker & BB King – Mashed Potato Twist
  10. Ohio Players – Jive Turkey
  11. The Living End – Turkey Stomp
  12. Paul McCartney – Get Me Out Of Here
  13. Eddie Money – Take Me Home Tonight
  14. Belle & Sebastian – Meat and Potatoes
  15. The Animals – We Gotta Get Out of This Place
  16. Simon & Garfunkel – Homeward Bound
  17. The Lumineers – Big Parade
  18. Bastille – Get Home
  19. The Smiths – Back To The Old House
  20. Camera Obscura – Let Me Go Home
  21. Yo La Tengo – Autumn Sweater
  22. Christine Kittrell – Sittin’ Here Drinkin’
  23. Al Caiola – Ciao
  24. The Rosebuds – The Make Out Song
  25. Peggy Lee – Is That All There Is

I hope these playlist get you through the holiday and food comas to come. Cheers to stretchy pants and kitchen dance parties.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

Party at 611 Tenth, 1955 - Slide #4

Go to bed kid – I need a drink.

Homework

• Home remedies for Migraines  – SEND THEM TO ME PLEASE

• Do you have Thanksgiving ? Do you Hate it?

• Favorite Thanksgiving Dish ? Can I have the recipe? 

• Do you actually listen to these playlists? 

6 thoughts on “Pass the GRAVY – A Three Part Thanksgiving Playlist EXTRAVAGANZA

  1. Pingback: Fuck Christmas & HAPPY BIRTHDAY JESUS- A VERY Bitter Playlist | Bitter Sweet Susie

  2. Pingback: Gobble Gobble | Bitter Sweet Susie

Oh Thanks FRIEND!

