Singin’ in The Rain – It’s Friday

Oh friends, It is STORMWATCH 2014 here in Southern California. Scary shit. We are supposed to get more rain than we have had in 3 YEARS! Everybody FREAK OUT! So far it has been a bit lackluster as far as mother nature has been in the past. I am not complaining. Any rain is good rain here but I would like one good daylight DOWNPOUR.

This horrifying weather (the sun just fucking came out) guided me to our FUCK YEA FRIDAY YouTube extravaganza!

We are all (or I hope you are) familiar with the Gene Kelly “Singin’ In the Rain” – but did you know it was in a film earlier?

Here is Cliff Edwards – also know as Ukulele Ike – in The Hollywood Revue of 1929

Right? How amazing is that? Does his voice sound familiar? IT SHOULD. He is none other than Jiminy Cricket!

He is also Jim Crow (I KNOW) in Dumbo – he is the friend in the pink spats – so STYLISH. If he wore some crappy suspenders and a clip on bow tie he would be the belle of Dapper Day.

I think he also may be doing that scat part by our friend in the red beatnik sweater.

Cliff unfortunately led a hard life. He started in vaudeville and was extremely famous! Like heart-throb – or maybe more like comic buddy FAMOUS! He went on to do movies and had popular recordings on through the 1940s – and voice work. A drug and alcohol addiction took him down a different path and he died in the 1970s – in obscurity. I read that Walt Disney was quietly paying for his medical bills and even paid for his headstone. I don’t have that fact checked but it is a nice thought all the same.

Blah I ruined the FUCK YEA vibe – let’s bring it back. Cliff is so charming and talented I dare you

(I FREAKING DAAAARRRRE YOUUU) to not get into some of these clips.

It really get’s going at the end of this one:

Here are some more wonderful YouTubes: They make me want to break out my Ukulele (no really I should – I can play all of one song on it because I DON’T PRACTICE)

“It’s Only a Paper Moon”

With Buster Keaton:

We could be here all day with the treasures of Cliff Edwards out there! I think this is a perfect soundtrack for brightening up a gloomy friday. Celebrate Cliff with listening to a few of his wonderful tunes.

Have a good weekend – visit me again!

Homework:

• Best/worst thing about the rain? 

• What do you watch or listen to on a gloomy day? I put on BBC’s Pride and Prejudice!

4 thoughts on “Singin’ in The Rain – It’s Friday

  1. Best thing? The smell of clean, wet asphalt. Worst thing? Those people who complain that it rains when they get 360 days a year of sunshine in Southern California. LET ME HAVE MY WEATHER GUYS. DON’T RUIN IT.

    I usually pop in either the Sassy Fassy or the Toby Stephens version of Jane Eyre and sigh heavily over a cup of tea.

    Like

    • I know – i wanted some RAIN! (And i love me constant 85 degree weather) but it is great to have a break. I love your rainy day suggestions. I am JUST starting to get into tea – i feel like a GROWN UP!

      Like

  2. 1. Running around in it with an umbrella (I love the sound of rain hitting it). Also, free water from the sky! (We’re in a perpetual water shortage here.)
    2. Absolutely Fabulous reruns.

    Oh, and it was a nice surprise to see the Brox Sisters (the three girls sharing a raincoat in Singing In The Rain) in a post. 😀

    Like

Oh Thanks FRIEND!

