Adventures in Apples

I just had the best day EVER. No, seriously, I really did have the best day.

I haven’t had a day this good in a really long time. My face still hurts from smiling so much.

I know, weird.

Apple Picking

Want to know what I did??  I WENT APPLE PICKING! I know that doesn’t sound right, me having a great day in nature picking my own food. I don’t even like fall or even like apples that much but it was magical like a disco roller skating unicorn. I know this is a quintessential fall activity but I have gone my entire life without experiencing it. I totally would have gone before if it was called candy picking, or ice cream sundae picking. But APPLES? That sounds too healthy.

Bittersweet Susie | Fall Adventures | Apple Picking

 We went to Rileys at Los Rios Rancho.

This amazing spot seems like another planet especially to a kid from the valley.

I embarked on this adventure with my friends Perrin and Brian.

I am one lucky girl to have pals that are up for such adventures.

Apple Picking

None of us had been to this spot before. There was a Jamboree that evening that we had bought tickets for but made it up to the farm early enough to go apple picking. I don’t know what that is but I think I am going to like it after hearing there would be snacks and banjos involved. SIGN ME UP.

Things about apple picking: While I am super excited about the apple pie I am going to make with my loot, the picking part was work. We had to walk up a hill, I am not great at uphill at all. THEN we went to this area we probably shouldn’t have but we quickly realized our mistake and Brian showed off this map reading skills. Perrin is the pro apple hunter and had a knack for finding the best tree. She also wore the best apple picking outfit which I think should be a required uniform for all farm work. It is both stylish AND practical.

Apple Picking

Perrin wore a dress with never-ending pockets. I highly recommend this garment for smuggling fruit in all possible scenarios (She paid for those, I promise).

We made our way back with our haul and had a little spare time before dinner started. Perrin taught us dominos, and I was totally winning.

Apple Picking

(I totally was NOT in fact winning)

Apple Picking

 The Jamboree was THE MOST FUN. The food was excellent, one of us may have gone back for seconds and thirds. We made some lovely friends with the family we sat with. We also got to sit with Sharon, this is her family and farm. Perrin and I made moves and asked if she would adopt us. I am pretty sure we are IN because she introduced us to one of her sons as YOUR NEW SISTERS.

Bittersweet Susie | Fall Adventures | Apple Picking

How could she say no, we dressed alike without ANY planning.

All during dinner there was music. SO MUCH GREAT MUSIC. We were treated to bluegrass, gospel, classic cowboy numbers and even a little opera.

They DID NOT sing Naughty By Nature’s Jamboree – but I am going to see if they take requests next time.

Bittersweet Susie | Fall Adventures | Apple Picking

My new friend Marc with a C looks like Bill Murray in Life Aquatic.

life-aquatic-with-steve-zissou-3

I am sure he won’t mind if I call him BILL from here on out.

As usual I am much better at SHOWING you than with my words so CHECK IT OUT!


Apple Picking

THAT is the face of the best day ever.

We have already made plans to go back and see our new friends. You can come too!

Please check them out, tell them I sent you!

Rileys at Los Rios Rancho

Riley’s Apple Farm

Homework (leave a comment or you are totally getting benched at recess)

• What are some fall favorite activities?

• Any California ones you think I should see?

• What the heck should I make with those apples? Link me some recipes!

Find me on Instagram @susieq & don’t miss a post by subscribing at the right. See you next time!

4 thoughts on “Adventures in Apples

  1. Apple picking has never ever sounded fun, but your photos (and words) make me think that maybe possibly perhaps I could have been wrong.

    How come I never did stuff like this when I lived in California? Blerg. I’m sure I could go apple picking here in Utah, but I’m pretty damn sure it wouldn’t include fun time music.

    Like

Oh Thanks FRIEND!

