Bang Bang – A Photo Adventure

Greetings everyone! I hope you are well!

Dominique in Palmdale - Film - Yashica 124

My friend Dominique and I have been planning and scheming to shoot together from what seems like FOREVER.

If you don’t already know and follow @tikidominiki then you are a damn fool and missing  out on this incredible sassy pants. Check out her music HERE!

Her shows are so fun and I have the BIGGEST girl crush on her ever – good thing her husband is the coolest!

Our plans are always grand and ambitious – I think partly because we both can be perfectionists and also know the other is going to KICK ASS at anything we do together. The only problem with that is we never seem to just DO IT. We are trying to find a perfect location, or lining up some hair and makeup friends to collaborate with us. In theory this is awesome, because we both want to put our best work out there but I think it also prevents us from shooting some spontaneous places full of happy accidents.

We somehow lined up our schedules and drive out to butt fuck nowhere in the desert to shoot some rogue rolls of film.

There were walmart runs, wrong turns, wild fires, traffic, and some totally sketch neighborhood that had us prepped to JUMP BACK IN THE CAR in a flash.

The results are rad and I cannot believe I waited this long to post them for you to oogle.

Of course – I shot it on film. I used a twin reflex camera from the 60s & shot both black and white and some expired slide film – which I started to develop myself. I never did that before and it has been a learning curve for me. It is way more sensitive than black and white film. Scanning and color correcting is always a challenge and I certainly have a hate/hate relationship with being enslaved in front of a screen for any length of time. Blah!

Check them out:

 

It was incredibly WINDY – hence all the HOLD ON TO YOU HAT poses. She was braver than I was for most of the day, until we got to the scariest liquor store EVER – then I was for some reason FINE. I guess I rationalize that if they have Doritos there than it cannot be that bad.

The best part was the road trip conversations  – day trips are perfect for that. WE HAD SO MUCH to say and no time to get sick of each other & are already scheming for more shoots and maybe some more road trips JUST BECAUSE!

Thanks for checking them out friends!

 

Summer School HOMEWORK

• What are your favorite road trip snacks?

• Any Road trip hacks/survival tips?

• Where is your favorite day trip to adventure to?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Bang Bang – A Photo Adventure

Oh Thanks FRIEND!

